Cereal factsCuisine quiz
Which is the most produced grain in the world?
Maize has become a staple food in many parts of the world, with total production surpassing that of wheat or rice. However, not all of this maize is consumed directly by humans. Some of the maize production is used for corn ethanol, animal feed and other maize products, such as corn starch and corn syrup.
What kind of malt is the most commonly used for the beer production?
Barley malt. Nearly all beer includes barley malt as the majority of the starch. This is because its fibrous hull remains attached to the grain during threshing. After malting, barley is milled, which finally removes the hull, breaking it into large pieces. These pieces remain with the grain during the mash, and act as a filter bed during lautering, when sweet wort is separated from insoluble grain material.
Which of these cereals contains gluten?
Spelt. Gluten is the name given to the protein found in some, but not all, grains: Grains containing gluten – wheat (including wheat varieties like spelt, kamut, farro and durum, plus products like bulgar and semolina), barley, rye, triticale and oats. Gluten free grains – corn, millet, rice, sorghum.